As a responsibly armed American, you already know how challenging it can be to stay up to date on changing gun laws…
Alabama gun owners, you’re in luck. We’ve gathered some of the most frequently asked firearms questions about your state. Read on for answers to some of the top questions regarding Alabama gun laws. (Not from Alabama? Check the Legal & Second Amendment tab on the side to find your state!)
Can You Conceal Carry at 18 in Alabama?
Yes. The minimum age to apply for an Alabama pistol permit is 18 years old. Open carry is legal at 18 years of age without a permit.
Can You Have a Loaded Gun in Your Car in Alabama?
A person may have a concealed and readily accessible handgun in a vehicle if he or she has an Alabama pistol permit or an out-of-state permit that Alabama honors. Without a permit, handguns must be unloaded and locked in a compartment or container that is in, or affixed securely to, the vehicle and out of reach of the driver and any passenger in the vehicle.
Is Alabama a ‘Stand Your Ground’ State?
Yes. In Alabama, you do not have a duty to retreatDuty to Retreat means a person who is under an imminent threat of personal harm must make a reasonable effort to avoid confrontation, either by de-escalation or an attempt to leave the area in which the threat is occurring. The use of deadly force should be the last option. and are allowed to stand your ground. This is only if you are in a place where you have a right to be and are not engaged in unlawful activity. Alabama is also a Castle DoctrineCastle Doctrine is the concept that an individual has a right to be safe and secure within his or her own home or “castle” and should not have to retreat from his or her home to be safe. state. Use of force in self-defense is generally presumed to be legal when that force is necessary to prevent imminent harm or injury to one’s self or another.
Do You Need a Concealed Carry Permit in Alabama?
Yes. Concealed carry is legal only with an Alabama pistol permit or a permit from a state that Alabama honors. Alabama does not require the applicant to complete a firearms safety course or otherwise demonstrate knowledge of firearms safety prior to issuance of a pistol permit. However, the USCCA recommends that anyone who makes the choice to carry a concealed firearm obtain as much training as possible in order to be a responsibly armed American. Alabama doesn’t issue permits to non-residents.
Which States Honor Alabama Pistol Permits?
An Alabama pistol permit is honored in 32 states, although this is subject to change. This includes the 12 permitless carry states (although age restrictions may apply). Visit the Alabama gun laws page for up-to-date information.
Can You Concealed Carry in a Bar in Alabama?
Yes. Those with an Alabama pistol permit or a permit from a state that Alabama honors may concealed carry in bars. If the establishment is posted restricting guns, however, one must abide by those rules.
As a responsibly armed American, regardless of the laws in your state, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgment, slow your reaction times or impact your decision-making abilities. Any decision you make while carrying a firearm could have life-altering consequences.
How Much Is a Gun Permit in Alabama?
Alabama state law allows each county sheriff to establish permit fees. However, new permits and renewal fees are generally $20 per year, so $100 for a 5-year permit. Active-duty military and non-disability retirees from active military duty who meet the conditions are eligible to obtain the pistol permit without paying a fee.
Ready to Learn More About Alabama Gun Laws?
It is your responsibility as a gun owner to know and understand the laws regarding your concealed carry rights. The USCCA’s Concealed Carry Reciprocity & Gun Laws Map has been designed to help inform and educate armed citizens like you. To learn more about Alabama’s concealed carry permit application process, concealed carry restrictions and training requirements, visit the Alabama gun laws page now…
Additionally, continued firearms training is crucial to protecting your family. Find a shooting range in Alabama through our “Find a Range” resource — made possible by our partnership with the National Shooting Sports Foundation and WhereToShoot.org.
NOTE: On March 10, 2022, Gov. Kay Ivey signed HB 272, or the constitutional carry bill, into law. Beginning on January 1, 2023, anyone who is 21 years old or older and legally permitted to carry a firearm will no longer be required to obtain a permit in order to carry a concealed pistol.
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and, as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.