Carrying a firearm for self-defense comes with a lot of responsibility. Knowing the laws where you carry is just one important task you must undertake as an armed American. To help with that, we will be providing you with a summary of basic carry laws for several states. Learn about the most important things to know when carrying in Louisiana, the Bayou State, below.
Getting a Permit in Louisiana
The state of Louisiana does not prohibit the open carry of firearms in public. Therefore, it is legal without a permit for anyone at least 18 years old who is not prohibited from carrying a firearm. Some areas are off-limits, including parades and bars.
Concealed carry is legal for residents with a Louisiana Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) and for non-residents with a permit/license from a state recognized by Louisiana. CHPs are available for residents and members of the military permanently stationed in the state. An applicant must be at least 21 years old and a resident of Louisiana and must complete a firearms training course. In terms of reciprocity, Louisiana honors permits issued by states that recognize Louisiana permits. Stun guns, Tasers and defensive sprays such as pepper spray are legal to purchase and possess without a permit.
Permits are not required when buying a handgun, and there is no firearms registration in Louisiana. No background check is required when buying a handgun from a private individual. There is also no mandatory waiting period for handgun purchases or magazine-capacity restrictions. Armor-piercing ammunition is prohibited.
Where Can One Carry in Louisiana?
Per the Louisiana State Police (LSP) Concealed Handguns Frequently Asked Questions, under most circumstances, carrying a handgun in a motor vehicle is legal in Louisiana.
Locations where a concealed handgun may be carried by permit holders include:
- Restaurants that serve alcohol, but not in the bar area (unless posted)
- Places of worship, with permission from someone with authority
- State/national parks
- State/national forests
- Wildlife Management Areas
- Roadside rest areas
Locations where carry is prohibited, even for permit holders, include:
- Any school campus or school bus or within 1,000 feet of a school
- A law enforcement office, station or building
- A detention facility, prison or jail
- A courthouse or courtroom
- A polling place
- A municipal building or other public building or structure
- The State Capitol building
- Any portion of an airport facility where the carrying of firearms is prohibited under federal law
- A parade or demonstration for which a permit was issued by a governmental entity
- A private residence of another without first receiving the consent of that person
- Any establishment that sells alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises (for restaurants with bars, the bar areas are off-limits)
- Designated gaming areas of casinos
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law or state law or regulation
Visit the USCCA Louisiana gun laws page now…