Carrying a firearm for self-defense comes with a lot of responsibility. Knowing the laws where you carry is just one important task you must undertake as an armed American. To help with that, we will be providing you with a summary of basic carry laws for several states. Learn about the most important things to know when carrying in Michigan below.
Getting a Michigan Concealed Carry Permit
Open carry is legal in Michigan with several restrictions. The minimum age is 18 years old. A resident who can legally possess a firearm can open carry without a permit if the gun is registered in his or her name. A non-resident must have a valid concealed carry license from his or her home state in order to concealed carry or open carry. Concealed carry is legal for residents with a Michigan Concealed Pistol License (CPL) and for non-residents who are at least 21 years old and who have a concealed carry permit issued by their home state. CPLs are issued to residents only, with exceptions for some active-duty members of the military. A state-approved firearms training course with at least eight hours of instruction, including three hours of range time, is required to obtain a CPL.
A concealed carry permit is required to purchase or possess a stun gun or Taser. Individuals at least 18 years old may purchase specific types of pepper spray for self-defense without a license.
Only Michigan residents may purchase pistols in Michigan. A person acquiring a handgun must have either a License to Purchase a Pistol or a Michigan CPL. Although there is no formal firearms registry, all handgun sales require a Pistol Sales Record (RI-60) form to be filed with the Michigan State Police. There is also no mandatory waiting period for handgun purchases. There are no magazine-capacity restrictions. Armor-piercing ammunition is prohibited.
Where Can One Carry Concealed in Michigan?
In terms of locations where a concealed handgun may be carried, anyone with a valid concealed carry license can concealed carry in a vehicle. Without a permit, handguns must be unloaded and in a closed case designed for the storage of firearms either in the trunk of the vehicle or for vehicles without a trunk. This must not be readily accessible to the occupants of the vehicle. There is a duty to inform a law enforcement officer that you’re carrying a concealed firearm. Any valid concealed carry license holder can concealed carry at roadside rest areas.
Other areas where permit holders can carry concealed are:
- A restaurant area of an eatery that serves alcohol (unless posted and provided you’re not under the influence; however, concealed carry is not allowed in bars)
- State/national parks
- State/national forests
- Wildlife Management Areas
Locations where concealed carry is prohibited, even for permit holders, include:
- A “weapon-free school zone,” defined to include any public or private K-12 school, as well as in vehicles used by a school to transport students to or from school property
- A public or private child care center or day care center, public or private child care institution, or public or private child-placing agency
- A dormitory or classroom of a community college, college or university
- The University of Michigan, Michigan State University (although visitors with valid permits may carry on campus) and Wayne State University
- A sports arena or stadium
- A bar or tavern where the primary source of income of the business is the sale of alcoholic liquor by the glass that is consumed on the premises
- A place of worship, unless the presiding official permits the carrying of concealed pistols on that property or facility
- An entertainment facility with a seating capacity of 2,500 or more individuals
- A hospital
- Secured areas of commercial airports
- A casino
- Any courtroom, office or other space used for official court business or by judicial employees, without prior approval
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law
Visit the USCCA Michigan gun laws page now…