As a responsibly armed American, you already know how challenging it may be to stay up to date on constantly changing gun laws…
Wisconsin gun owners, you’re in luck. We’ve gathered some of the most frequently asked firearms questions in your state. Read on for answers to some of the top questions regarding Wisconsin gun laws.
Do You Need a Permit to Carry a Gun in Wisconsin?
Yes and no. Open carryOpen carry means to carry a firearm in public in circumstances where the firearm is fully or partially (e.g, holstered) visible to others. is legal for any person who is 18 years or older who is not prohibited from possessing a firearm under state and federal laws. Concealed carry is legal with a Wisconsin Concealed Weapons License (CWL) or a license/permit from a state that Wisconsin honors.
Can You Carry a Gun in Your Car Without a Concealed Weapon Permit?
No. It is illegal to transport a loaded handgun within reach while in a vehicle in Wisconsin without a permit. If you hold a valid Wisconsin CCW or a permit from a state whose permit Wisconsin recognizes, you may carry a gun in your car.
What Are the Requirements for Concealed Carry in Wisconsin?
You must be a Wisconsin resident or active military stationed in Wisconsin. Applicants must be at least 21 years old, have completed a firearms safety training course and not be prohibited from possessing a firearm by state or federal law.
Is Wisconsin a ‘Stand Your Ground’ State?
No. Wisconsin is a Castle Doctrine state. There is no duty to retreatDuty to Retreat means a person who is under an imminent threat of personal harm must make a reasonable effort to avoid confrontation, either by de-escalation or an attempt to leave the area in which the threat is occurring. The use of deadly force should be the last option., and the law applies at a person’s residence, vehicle or business. To use the law, an intruder must be trying to forcibly enter a person’s home, business or vehicle while the defender is present.
When Can You Use Deadly Force in Wisconsin?
In Wisconsin, the law on self-defense generally states you may employ lethal force to defend yourself or another if you or they are in reasonable fear of imminent death or great bodily harm.
Can You Conceal Carry in Wisconsin State Parks?
Yes. Those with a valid concealed carry permit may carry inside Wisconsin state parks.
Can Someone Under 21 Own a Handgun in Wisconsin?
Yes. Any person 18 years or older and not prohibited from possessing a firearm can own a handgun. Federal and state law prohibits handgun sales by licensed dealers to persons under 21 and private sales or other transfers of handguns or handgun ammunition to any person the transferor knows or has reasonable cause to believe is under age 18.
Ready to Learn More About Wisconsin Gun Laws?
It is your responsibility as a gun owner to know and understand the laws regarding your concealed carry rights. The USCCA’s Concealed Carry Reciprocity & Gun Laws Map has been designed to help inform and educate armed citizens like you. To learn more about Wisconsin’s concealed carry permit application process, concealed carry restrictions and training requirements, visit the Wisconsin gun laws page now…
Additionally, continued firearms training is crucial to protecting your family. Find a shooting range in Wisconsin through our “Find a Shooting Range” resource — made possible by our partnership with the National Shooting Sports Foundation (NSSF).
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and, as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.