As a responsibly armed American, you already know how challenging it can be to stay up to date on ever-changing gun laws…
South Carolina gun owners, you’re in luck. We’ve gathered some of the most frequently asked South Carolina firearms questions. Read on for answers to some of the top questions regarding South Carolina gun laws.
Is It Legal to Carry a Concealed Weapon in South Carolina?
Yes. Concealed carry is legal with a South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit (CWP) or a license/permit from a state that South Carolina honors. Currently, South Carolina honors permits from 25 states.
Do You Have to Register a Gun in South Carolina?
No. South Carolina has no law requiring residents to register firearms.
Is There a Waiting Period to Buy a Gun in South Carolina?
No. There is no waiting period to purchase a gun in South Carolina. However, when purchasing a firearm from a Federal Firearms License (FFL) dealer, the dealer must perform a National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS). NICS checks can take anywhere from a few minutes to a few days. If a determination is not obtained within three business days, then the dealer may legally complete the transfer.
Is South Carolina a Stand Your Ground State?
Yes, South Carolina has a “Stand Your GroundSo-called “stand-your-ground” laws allow armed individuals who believe they are in imminent danger to use deadly force under certain circumstances, without first attempting to retreat from the danger.” statute. A person who is not engaged in an unlawful activity and who is attacked in a place where he or she has a right to be has no duty to retreat. He or she has the right to stand his or her ground and meet force with force, including deadly force. This applies only if he or she reasonably believes deadly force is necessary to prevent death or great bodily injury to himself or herself, or another person, as well as to prevent the commission of a violent crime. This protection applies in a person’s home, business, vehicle and in public (such as on a sidewalk or at the mall).
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Concealed Weapons Permit & How Long Does It Take to Get a Gun Permit in South Carolina?
An initial South Carolina CWP costs $50. The South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED) is allowed 90 days to process complete applications. The South Carolina concealed carry permit renewal fee is $50.
Can I Carry a Loaded Gun in My Car in South Carolina?
Yes. You may transport a loaded gun in your car with a South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permits (CWP) or a license/permit from a state that South Carolina honors only. Without a permit, the firearm must be secured in a closed glove compartment, closed console or closed trunk.
How Long Does It Take to Get a Background Check for a Gun in South Carolina?
FFL dealers submit background checks to NICSNational Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS): Operated by the FBI, the NICS (National Instant Criminal Background Check System) was developed with the ATF and state and local law enforcement agencies. It is used to verify that a person buying a firearm does not have a criminal record or isn’t otherwise ineligible to purchase or own a firearm. for firearms purchases in South Carolina. NICS checks can take anywhere from a few minutes to a few days. If a determination is not obtained within three business days, the dealer may legally complete the firearms transfer.
Ready to Learn More About South Carolina Gun Laws?
It is your responsibility as a gun owner to know and understand the laws regarding your concealed carry rights. The USCCA’s Concealed Carry Reciprocity & Gun Laws Map has been designed to help inform and educate armed citizens like you. To learn more about South Carolina’s concealed carry permit application process, concealed carry restrictions and training requirements, visit the South Carolina gun laws page now…
Additionally, continued firearms training is crucial to protecting your family. Find a range in South Carolina through our “Find a Shooting Range” resource — made possible by our partnership with the National Shooting Sports Foundation (NSSF) and WhereToShoot.org.
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. Members and the concealed carry community and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing and, as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.