As a responsibly armed American, you already know how challenging it can be to stay up to date on gun laws…
North Dakota gun owners, you’re in luck. We’ve gathered some of the most frequently asked firearms questions in your state. Read on for answers to some of the top questions regarding North Dakota gun laws. (Not from North Dakota? Check the Legal & Second Amendment tab for your state.)
Can You Carry a Gun in North Dakota? Do You Need a Permit to Carry a Gun in North Dakota?
Open carry of handguns is legal for residents with a Concealed Weapon License (CWL) and for non-residents with a valid resident concealed carry license from a state that North Dakota honors. The minimum age is 18. Some areas are off-limits, including bars.
Can You Carry a Concealed Firearm in North Dakota Without a Permit?
North Dakota has constitutional concealed carry for adults who have been residents for at least 30 days and are not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a firearm. Carriers must have their drivers’ licenses or state IDs on them and must inform law enforcement that they are in possession of a firearm upon any in-person contact by an officer. Concealed carry is also legal for non-residents with resident permits from states that North Dakota recognizes. Restrictions on places that a firearm may be possessed still apply.
Can You Carry a Gun in Your Car in North Dakota?
Yes, for an individual who is not otherwise precluded from possessing a class 2 firearm and dangerous weapon license under chapter 62.1-04 and who has been a resident for at least 30 days with a valid driver’s license or State ID. Non-residents must have a resident concealed carry permit from a state that ND honors.
How Old Do You Have to Be to Own a Handgun in North Dakota?
The minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in North Dakota is 18 years old. A person under the age of 18 may only possess a handgun while under the direct supervision of an adult for purposes of firearms safety training, target shooting or hunting.
What States Does North Dakota Have Reciprocity With?
North Dakota will honor only resident concealed carry licenses/permits issued by states that have agreed to recognize North Dakota’s licenses. North Dakota currently honors permits from 38 states, although that is subject to change. Visit the North Dakota gun laws page for up-to-date reciprocity information.
Is North Dakota a ‘Stand Your Ground’ State?
Yes. North Dakota has a self-defense law based on the Castle Doctrine and based on the Governor’s signing of House Bill 1498, the State has a Stand Your Ground law that went into effect on August 1, 2021. There is no duty to retreat anywhere a person is legally allowed to be. North Dakota law provides immunity from civil liability for an individual who uses force as permitted by state law.
Can a Felon Own a Gun in North Dakota?
In North Dakota, a person who has been convicted anywhere of a felony offense involving violence or intimidation is prohibited from owning a firearm or having one in his or her possession for a period of 10 years from the date of conviction or the date of release from incarceration, parole or probation — whichever is latest. If an individual has been convicted anywhere of any other felony offense not included in the 10-year prohibition — or of a Class A Misdemeanor in North Dakota involving violence or intimidation (or equivalent offense in another state) and a firearm, dangerous weapon or destructive device, he or she is prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm for a five-year period. Additionally, federal law prohibits people from possessing firearms if they have been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of violence or have had a domestic violence restraining order against them.
Ready to Learn More About North Dakota Gun Laws?
It is your responsibility as a gun owner to know and understand the laws regarding your concealed carry rights. The USCCA’s Concealed Carry Reciprocity & Gun Laws Map has been designed to help inform and educate armed citizens like you. To learn more about North Dakota’s concealed carry permit application process, concealed carry restrictions and training requirements, visit the North Dakota gun laws page now…
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and, as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.