As a responsibly armed American, you already know how challenging it can be to stay up to date on gun laws…
North Carolina gun owners, you’re in luck. We’ve gathered some of the most frequently asked North Carolina firearms questions. Read on for answers to some of the top questions regarding North Carolina gun laws.
Can You Carry a Handgun in North Carolina Without a Permit?
While you may openly carry a weapon without a permit, North Carolina requires a concealed carryConcealed Carry is the practice of carrying a concealed weapon on one’s person in public. Concealed firearms can be carried on a person’s body, typically in a holster, or off body in a purse, backpack or other specialized concealment accessories and garments. permit to carry a weapon concealed on (or near) your body or in your vehicle unless you are on your own premises. North Carolina Concealed Handgun Permits (CHP) are issued only to residents 21 years and older. North Carolina CHPs require firearms training.
Is It Legal to Open Carry in North Carolina?
Yes, it is legal to open carry firearms on your person without a permit in North Carolina. Some areas are off-limits, including schools, state or federal buildings, offices of the state or federal government, and the State Capitol grounds.
Is North Carolina a Stand Your Ground State?
Yes. A person is justified in the use of deadly force and does not have a duty to retreatDuty to Retreat means a person who is under an imminent threat of personal harm must make a reasonable effort to avoid confrontation, either by de-escalation or an attempt to leave the area in which the threat is occurring. The use of deadly force should be the last option. in any place he or she has the lawful right to be. Force is legal if he or she reasonably believes it is necessary to prevent imminent death or great bodily harm to himself or herself or another.
Can I Have a Gun in My Car Without a Permit in North Carolina?
Without a permit, a weapon cannot be BOTH concealed and readily accessible. Therefore, a handgun would need to be either openly displayed or concealed out of reach. Transportation of firearms in a locked glove box, locked console or the trunk is lawful with or without a concealed carry permit.
How Long Does It Take to Get a Concealed Handgun Permit in NC?
Once you have provided all required materials to your local sheriff’s office, the processing time set by statute is 45 days. A complete CHP application includes the certificate showing completion of a state-approved handgun safety training course, a completed application form, an ID card and proof of residence.
Can You Shoot an Intruder in Your Home in North Carolina?
A person is justified in the use of deadly force and does not have a duty to retreat in any place a person has the lawful right to be if he or she reasonably believes that such force is necessary to prevent imminent death or great bodily harm. Force is also legal if a person is in his or her home, vehicle or workplace and provided that the person against whom the defensive force was used was an unlawful intruder or was attempting to forcibly and unlawfully enter.
Can a Felon Own a Gun in North Carolina?
Many factors need to be considered in order to determine whether someone with a felony conviction may be able to own or possess firearms. North Carolina has expungement statutes which allow some people who have been convicted to have certain felonies expunged from their records. Felons can also try to have firearm rights restored by petitioning the court. The best way to determine if either of these options might be an option for you is to consult an experienced attorney in your area.
Ready to Learn More About North Carolina Gun Laws?
It is your responsibility as a gun owner to know and understand the laws regarding your concealed carry rights. The USCCA’s Concealed Carry Reciprocity & Gun Laws Map has been designed to help inform and educate armed citizens like you. To learn more about North Carolina’s concealed carry permit application process, concealed carry restrictions and training requirements, visit the North Carolina gun laws page now…
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. Members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each particular case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.