As a responsibly armed American, you already know how challenging it can be to stay updated on gun laws.
Maine gun owners, you’re in luck. We’ve gathered some of the most frequently asked firearms questions in your state. Read on for answers to some of the top questions regarding Maine gun laws. (Not from Maine? Check the Legal & Second Amendment tab for your state.)
Can You Have a Loaded Gun in Your Car in Maine?
Yes. Any person 21 or older who can legally possess a firearm can concealed carry in a vehicle without a permit in Maine. If carrying with a permit/license that Maine honors, you must be 18 or older.
Do You Need a Gun License in Maine?
No. Open and concealed carry are legal in Maine without a permit. Any person 21 or older who can legally possess a firearm is allowed to carry openly or concealed. You do not need a license to own a handgun in Maine. There are no purchase permits, handgun registration or waiting periods for handguns in the state. Maine is a shall-issue, constitutional carry state, issuing permits to carry concealed handguns (CHPs) after a state-approved training course.
Is Maine a ‘Stand Your Ground’ State?
No. However, Maine is a Castle Doctrine state. Maine’s law states that a person is justified in using deadly force upon another person:
- When the person reasonably believes it necessary and reasonably believes such other person is about to use unlawful, deadly force against the person or a third party or is committing or about to commit a kidnapping, robbery or sexual assault against the person or a third party.
- When the person reasonably believes that such other person has entered or is attempting to enter a dwelling place or has surreptitiously remained within a dwelling place without a license or privilege to do so, or that deadly force is necessary to prevent the infliction of bodily injury by such other person upon the person or a third party present in the dwelling place.
Can You Carry a Gun in a Bar in Maine?
Yes, any person who is at least 21 years old and legally entitled to carry a firearm can carry a handgun in a bar, unless posted, provided he or she is not under the influence. If you’re carrying with a permit/license that Maine honors/recognizes, you must be 18 or older. Under the influence includes liquor or drugs or a combination of liquor and drugs or with an excessive alcohol level (BAC of 0.08 or greater) in a licensed establishment.
As a responsibly armed American, regardless of the laws in your state, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgement, slow your reaction times, or impact your decision-making abilities. Any decision you make while carrying a firearm could have life-altering consequences.
Can I Open Carry in Maine?
Yes, without a permit. Any person who is at least 21 years old and legally entitled to carry a firearm can open carry.
Can You Carry a Gun in Acadia National Park?
Possibly. Maine doesn’t honor all other states permits, and National Parks are locations that are off-limits to those carrying under permitless carry in Maine. You have to have a Maine permit or a resident permit from a state Maine honors to carry in Acadia.
Is Maine a Reciprocity State?
Maine is a constitutional carry state. However, by statute, Maine doesn’t honor all other states permits, and there are locations that are off-limits to those carrying under permitless carry in Maine. You have to have a Maine permit or a resident permit from a state Maine honors to carry in areas such as National and state parks. Maine currently recognizes permits from 24 states, although that is subject to change. Visit the Maine gun laws page for up-to-date reciprocity information.
Is Maine a Gun-Friendly State?
In general, yes, Maine would likely be considered a gun-friendly state. Maine is a shall-issue, constitutional carry state where anyone 21 or older who can legally possess a firearm is allowed to carry openly or concealed. Maine recognizes licenses or permits to carry concealed deadly weapons issued by other states that honor Maine licenses to carry concealed deadly weapons. In addition, there is no permit, background check or firearms registration required to buy a handgun from a private individual.
Ready to Learn More About Maine Gun Laws?
It is your responsibility as a gun owner to know and understand the laws regarding your concealed carry rights. The USCCA’s Concealed Carry Reciprocity & Gun Laws Map has been designed to help inform and educate armed citizens like you. To learn more about Maine’s concealed carry permit application process, concealed carry restrictions and training requirements, visit the Maine gun laws page now…
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing and, as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.
We’ve changed our commenting platform to help protect your private information and make sign-in and commenting easier! Our new commenting platform is also our USCCA Online Community platform and allows you to use your USCCA login information for all of the USCCA website.
You do not need a USCCA Membership to comment on the blog posts or in the Online Community. If you’re not a member, sign up for a free USCCA account.