Carrying a firearm for self-defense comes with a lot of responsibility. Knowing the laws where you carry is just one important task you must undertake as an armed American. To help with that, we will be providing you with a summary of basic carry laws for several states. Learn about the most important things to know when carrying in South Dakota, the Mount Rushmore State, below.
Concealed Carry Permitting in South Dakota
Both open carry and concealed carry are legal in South Dakota without a permit for anyone at least 18 years old who can legally own a firearm. For reciprocity purposes, the state issues Concealed Pistol Permits (CPPs) to residents as well as members of the military and their spouses stationed in South Dakota.
There are three levels of permits available: Regular, Gold Card and Enhanced. The Regular Permit allows holders to carry concealed and is recognized in a number of other states. The Gold Card Permit — in addition to the benefits of a Regular Permit — proves passage of the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) when purchasing a firearm. This results in no required waiting period. The Enhanced Permit requires a firearms training course, provides the purchase background check exemption and is recognized in six more states than the Regular Permit. In terms of reciprocity, South Dakota recognizes permits issued by all states.
On March 18, 2022, Gov. Noem signed SB 212 into law, which removes concealed carry permit fees. The law will go into effect on July 1, 2022.
Other Self-Defense Tools + Purchasing a Firearm
Pepper spray, stun guns and Tasers are legal to purchase and possess without a permit in South Dakota. No permit is needed to purchase a firearm from a private individual, there is no waiting period, and there is no firearms registration in the state. Background checks are not required for private sales, although one is required when purchasing a handgun from a Federal Firearms Dealer. There is no requirement to inform law enforcement that you are carrying a firearm in South Dakota.
Where Can One Carry in South Dakota?
Locations where concealed handguns may be carried include:
- In a vehicle
- Roadside rest areas
- State/national parks
- State/national forests
- Wildlife Management Areas
- A person’s home, place of business, or land he or she owns or rents
- State Capitol building or county courthouses for Enhanced CPP holders only with 24-hour prior notification to the superintendent of the Highway Patrol
- Restaurant area of an eatery that serves alcohol, unless posted (although concealed carry is not allowed in bars or the bar areas of restaurants)
- Places of worship, unless posted
Locations where carry is prohibited, even for permit holders, include:
- Public elementary or secondary school premises, including school vehicles or buildings
- An establishment licensed to serve alcoholic beverages on the premises if the establishment derives more than 50 percent of its sales from alcoholic beverages (concealed carry is allowed in the restaurant area of an eatery that serves alcohol, unless posted)
- A game preserve or refuge
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law
Visit the USCCA South Dakota gun laws page now…
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and, as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.