Carrying a firearm for self-defense comes with a lot of responsibility. Knowing the laws where you carry is just one important task you must undertake as an armed American. To help with that, we will be providing you with a summary of basic carry laws for several states. Learn about the most important things to know when carrying in North Dakota, the Peace Garden State, below.
How to Get a Permit in North Dakota
Open carry of handguns is legal for residents with a Concealed Weapon License (CWL) and for non-residents with a valid resident concealed carry license from a state that North Dakota honors. North Dakota has permitless concealed carry for adults that have been residents for at least 30 days and are not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a firearm and non-residents with a valid resident concealed carry license from a state that North Dakota honors. A resident carrying under permitless concealed carry must carry his or her driver’s license or state ID and must inform law enforcement that he or she in possession of the firearm upon any in-person contact by a law enforcement officer. In terms of reciprocity, North Dakota will honor residents permits from states that have agreed to recognize North Dakota’s licenses.
North Dakota issues Class 1 and Class 2 CWLs. Both licenses are equally valid within North Dakota but because of additional testing requirements, the holders of a Class 1 license have reciprocity in many more states than those who hold a Class 2 license. CWLs require completion of a state-certified firearms training course. North Dakota issues licenses to residents and full-time active-duty military stationed in North Dakota. A non-resident can be issued a CWL if he or she has a concealed carry permit from his or her home state (determined by the driver’s license) and his or her home state has reciprocity with North Dakota.
More About North Dakota Permits
Pepper spray, stun guns and Tasers that only deliver a single application of voltage are legal to purchase and possess without a permit in North Dakota. No permit is needed to purchase a firearm from a private individual, there is no waiting period, and there is no firearms registration in the state. Background checks are not required for private sales, although they are required when purchasing a handgun from a Federal Firearms Dealer. There is no requirement to inform law enforcement that you are carrying a firearm for anyone with a concealed carry license. However, there is a duty to inform law enforcement for residents constitutionally carrying without a license.
Locations where a concealed handgun may be carried include:
- In a vehicle for an individual who is not otherwise precluded from possessing a class 2 firearm and dangerous weapon license under chapter 62.1-04 and who has been a resident for at least 30 days with a valid driver’s license or State ID. Non-residents must have a resident concealed carry permit from a state that ND honors.
- Roadside rest areas under permitless concealed carry for residents and for non-residents with a resident permit from states that North Dakota recognizes.
- State/national parks under permitless concealed carry for residents and for non-residents with a resident permit from states that North Dakota recognizes.
- State/national forests under permitless concealed carry for residents and for non-residents with a resident permit from states that North Dakota recognizes.
- Wildlife Management Areas under permitless concealed carry for residents and for non-residents with a resident permit from states that North Dakota recognizes.
- On a person’s land, or in that individual’s permanent or temporary residence or fixed place of business
- Restaurant area of an eatery that serves alcohol, under permitless concealed carry for residents and for non-residents with a resident permit from states that North Dakota recognizes, unless posted (However, concealed carry is not allowed in bars or the bar areas of restaurants.)
Locations where carry is prohibited even for permit holders include:
Schools or school-sponsored events on school property
Churches or other places of worship without permission
Publicly owned or operated buildings
On the Capitol grounds and in any building on the Capitol
Any part of a liquor establishment that is set aside for the retail sale and consumption of alcoholic beverages Anywhere outside of your home while intoxicated or under the influence of alcoholic beverages or drugs Gaming sites at which bingo is the primary gaming activityState game refuges or state game management areas
Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law
Visit the USCCA North Dakota gun laws page now…
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and, as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.