Carrying a firearm for self-defense comes with a lot of responsibility. Knowing the laws where you carry is just one important task you must undertake as an armed American. To help with that, we will be providing you with a summary of basic carry laws for several states. Learn about the most important things to know when carrying in The Magnolia State below.
Getting a Permit in Mississippi
Open carry is legal in Mississippi for anyone at least 18 years of age who can legally possess a firearm. There are several restrictions, including that the firearm must be carried in a holster, sheath or scabbard that is at least partially visible above the clothing (anywhere that guns are not otherwise prohibited). Some areas are off-limits, including schools and bars.
Concealed carry is legal without a permit for anyone who can legally possess a firearm as long as the handgun is carried in a holster or sheath. For reciprocity reasons, two types of permits are still available at the state level: the Mississippi Standard Firearms Permit (SFP) and the Mississippi Enhanced Firearms Permit (E-SFP), which allows carry in more locations. A permit applicant must be 21 years old (or at least 18 and a member or the military or a veteran). The E-SFP requires a firearms training course offered by an instructor certified by the Mississippi Department of Public Safety.
Permits are not required when buying a handgun. There is no firearms registration in Mississippi. No background check is required when buying a handgun from a private individual. There is also no mandatory waiting period for handgun purchases or magazine-capacity or ammunition restrictions.
While no permit is required for purchase, a concealed carry permit is required to carry a stun gun or Taser. There is no statute prohibiting the purchase or use of pepper spray in Mississippi.
Where Can One Carry?
Locations where a concealed handgun may be carried without a permit for anyone not otherwise prohibited from possessing a firearm include:
- Private passenger vehicles
- Restaurants that serve alcohol (although not in bars or the bar areas of restaurants unless posted)
- State/national parks
- State/national forests
- Wildlife Management Areas
- Roadside rest areas
Locations where carry is prohibited, even for permit holders, include:
- Elementary or secondary school facilities, junior colleges, community colleges, colleges or university facilities
- Schools, colleges or professional athletic events not related to firearms
- Police, sheriff or highway patrol stations
- Detention facilities, prisons or jails
- Polling places
- Places of nuisance as defined in Miss. Code Ann. § 95-3-1
- Meeting of a government or legislative body
- Churches or places of worship (except for a church’s authorized armed security team)
- Premises posted “Carrying of a pistol or revolver is prohibited”
- Day use areas, campgrounds and other developed recreational lands on Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA Property)
- Any portion of an establishment licensed to dispense alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises that is primarily devoted to dispensing alcoholic beverages
- Parades or demonstrations for which a permit is required to carry a stun gun, concealed pistol or revolver
- Passenger terminals of any airport (except if the firearm is encased for shipment)
- Places where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal or state law or regulation
Individuals with the Mississippi Enhanced Firearms Permit can carry in some of the locations noted above. Visit the USCCA Mississippi gun laws page for more details now…