Carrying a firearm for self-defense comes with a lot of responsibility. Knowing the laws where you carry is just one important task you must undertake as an armed American. To help with that, we will be providing you with a summary of basic carry laws for several states. Learn about the most important things to know when carrying in Utah below.
Getting a Permit
Open carry and concealed carry are legal in Utah for any person with a concealed carry permit from any state. Utah honors all state concealed carry permits. Without a permit, the individual can only open carry a handgun if it is unloaded and at least two actions from being fired (e.g., rack the slide to chamber, then pull the trigger). The minimum age for a Utah Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP) is 21 years of age or 18 for a provisional permit. Utah CFPs are issued to residents as well as non-residents who have a permit from their home states. Individuals may also carry pepper spray, a stun gun or a Taser. All are legal to purchase and possess without a permit. There is no duty to inform a law enforcement officer that you’re carrying a concealed firearm.
A permit is not required when buying a handgun, and there is no firearms registration in Utah. A background check is not required when buying a handgun from a private individual. The minimum age to possess and transport a firearm is 18 years old. There is also no mandatory waiting period for handgun purchases. There are no magazine capacity restrictions for handguns or ammunition restrictions in Utah.
Where Can One Carry?
In terms of locations where a concealed handgun may be carried, anyone who is legally entitled to carry a firearm can carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle. That is with or without a permit if the vehicle is in the person’s lawful possession or the person is carrying the loaded firearm in a vehicle with the consent of the individual who lawfully possesses the vehicle. Carry is also allowed at roadside rest areas with a valid CCW permit. Other areas where permit holders can carry concealed are:
- Restaurants that serve alcohol, unless posted and provided the person is not under the influence
- State/national parks
- State/national forests
- Wildlife Management Areas
- Places of worship (unless posted)
Locations where carry is prohibited, even for permit holders, include:
- Any secure area in correctional, law enforcement, courthouse and mental health facilities
- Churches, houses of worship and private residences that have given notice that firearms are prohibited
- Secure areas of airports
- Anywhere if you are under the influence of alcohol (.05 blood alcohol content) or a controlled substance
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law
Visit the USCCA Utah gun laws page now…
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and, as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.