Whether you’re new to owning a firearm or have had a gun for home defense for years, getting a concealed carry permit may seem daunting. It doesn’t have to be. There are many reasons and ways to carry a concealed weapon, but the first step is knowing the laws. Applying for a CCW varies by state. Read about the process for getting a Oregon Concealed Handgun License (CHL) below.
Similar to permit requirements, states vary greatly in their processes for how an applicant obtains a concealed handgun permit, what their permits/licenses are called, whether licenses include photographs, whether fingerprinting is required, license duration, license costs and turnaround times. Some states allow an applicant to complete an application online, while others require an in-person visit to the office of the respective issuing authority. There are even states that require the applicant to provide a list of non-related character references.
Concealed Carry Permit Basics
Oregon is a shall-issue state. Shall-issue means licensing authorities are compelled to issue a license as long as an applicant meets the basic requirements set out by state law. Concealed carry applications are processed at the county level by the local sheriff’s office. However, the sheriff has some discretion if there are reasonable grounds to believe the applicant has been or is reasonably likely to be a danger to self or others.
Open carry is legal in Oregon without a license although local cities and counties are authorized to place restrictions on who may open carry in public places (which includes vehicles). The minimum age is 18 years old. Some areas are off-limits, including federal facilities and Indian reservations. Concealed carry is legal only with an Oregon Concealed Handgun License (CHL).
Oregon CHLs require an applicant to be at least 21 years of age and demonstrate competence with a handgun. This can be done through an approved firearms training course or through participation in organized shooting competition or military experience. Non-residents who live in contiguous states may apply for a CHL. In terms of reciprocity, Oregon does not honor permits from any other states.
Federally Prohibited Persons
The Federal Gun Control Act of 1968 and the Federal Omnibus Consolidated Appropriations Act of 1997 make it illegal for a person who fits into any of the prohibited categories to ship, transport, receive or possess firearms or ammunition. These laws prevent a state from issuing a concealed handgun permit/license as it would be illegal for people who fit in these categories, by federal law, to own or possess a gun.
What Are the License Requirements in Oregon?
An applicant must:
- Be at least 21 years of age
- Demonstrate competence with a handgun
- Provide proof of residency (Oregon driver’s license, voter registration card, etc.)
- Have a current address on his or her driver’s license
- Be a citizen of the U.S.
- Not have been convicted of a felony or found “guilty, except for insanity” of a felony
- Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor or found “guilty, except for insanity” of a misdemeanor within the four years prior to the application
- Not have been committed to the Oregon Health Authority
- Not have been found to be mentally ill and not be subject to an order that the person be prohibited from purchasing or possessing a firearm as a result of that mental illness
- Have no outstanding warrants for his or her arrest
- Not have been convicted of an offense involving controlled substances or have participated in a court-supervised drug diversion program including a misdemeanor conviction for the possession of marijuana (unless it is the person’s first conviction or drug diversion)
- Not be on any form of pretrial release
- Not be registered as a sex offender in any state
- Not have been discharged from the jurisdiction of a juvenile court in the previous four years if under such jurisdiction for committing an act which, if committed by an adult, would have constituted a felony or a misdemeanor
- Not have received a dishonorable discharge from the U.S. Armed Forces
- Not be subject to a citation for stalking or a protective order issued pursuant to certain statutory provisions
- Meet federal law requirements
Do I Need Firearms Training in Oregon?
Yes, firearms training is required in Oregon. You can meet the handgun competency requirement in one of the following ways:
- Complete a hunters’ safety course approved by the Department of Fish and Wildlife or similar agency, if handgun training was a component of the course
- Completion of any firearm safety or training course available to the general public offered by law enforcement, a community college or private or public institution or organization, or firearms training school, if the instructors were certified by the NRA or a law enforcement agency and if the course had a handgun safety component
- Provide a copy of your DD214 if it indicates you have been trained with a handgun, sidearm or pistol
- Present evidence of equivalent experience with a handgun through participation in organized shooting competition or military experience
How Do I Get a Concealed Handgun Permit in Oregon?
Step 1: Complete a firearm training course if required.
Step 2: Complete an application form at your local county sheriff’s office or download the application.
Step 3: Take the completed application to the county sheriff’s office with the following:
- Training course certificate
- Stamped, self-addressed envelope in which to mail your license
- Two forms of ID
You will be fingerprinted.
You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.
For more information, visit the USCCA Oregon gun laws page now…