As a responsibly armed American, you already know how challenging it is to stay up to date on Florida gun laws…
Florida gun owners, you’re in luck. We’ve gathered some of the most frequently asked Florida firearms questions. Read on for answers to some of the top questions regarding Florida gun laws. (Not from Florida? Don’t worry, your state is coming soon…)
Is Florida “Gun Friendly?”
That depends on an individual’s point of view. Open carry is not legal in Florida, buyers must be at least 21 years old to purchase any firearm, and although several counties have enacted ordinances establishing waiting periods for some purchases from non-licensed sellers (often at gun shows), concealed weapons license (CWL) holders are exempt.
What Are the Rules for Carrying a Concealed Weapon in Florida?
Concealed carry is legal with a Florida CWL or a concealed carry permit from one of the 35 states whose permits Florida honors. CWL holders can carry not only a handgun but also other weapons, such as electronic weapons, tear gas devices, billy clubs and knives. Applicants must be at least 21 years old (18 for active-duty military) and have completed a firearms training course. CWLs are issued to residents and non-residents. CWL holders can carry concealed in vehicles. There are a number of places that are off-limits even with a CWL, and those details can be found on our Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map & Gun Laws website.
Is It Legal to Open Carry in Florida?
Generally no. However, there are a few exceptions including the following:
- A person engaged in fishing, camping, or lawful hunting or going to or returning from a fishing, camping, or lawful hunting expedition;
- A person engaged in the business of manufacturing, repairing, or dealing in firearms, or the agent or representative of any such person while engaged in the lawful course of such business; and
- A person firing weapons for testing or target practice under safe conditions and in a safe place not prohibited by law or going to or from such place.
Can You Carry a Concealed Weapon in a Bank in Florida?
There is no Florida statute prohibiting Florida CWL holders from carrying in a bank.
Can I Conceal Carry in a Hospital in Florida?
Yes, except carry is not allowed in any hospital providing mental health services.
Can I Carry a Gun in My Car Without a Concealed Weapons Permit?
Without a permit, the firearm or other weapon must be securely encased or otherwise not readily accessible for immediate use.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Concealed Weapons Permit in Florida?
It is $97 for the initial license, plus the cost of required training.
Ready to Learn More About Florida Gun Laws?
It is your responsibility as a gun owner to know and understand the laws regarding your concealed carry rights. The USCCA’s Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map & Gun Laws website has been designed to help inform and educate armed citizens like you. To learn more about Florida’s concealed carry permit application process, concealed carry restrictions and training requirements, visit Florida’s gun laws page now.
Additionally, continued firearms training is crucial to protecting your family. Find a gun range in Florida through our “Find a Shooting Range” resource — made possible by our partnership with the National Shooting Sports Foundation (NSSF) and WhereToShoot.org.
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. Members and the concealed carry community and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case, and laws are constantly changing; as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.