Carrying a firearm for self-defense comes with a lot of responsibility. Knowing the laws where you carry is just one important task armed Americans must undertake. To help with that, we will be providing you with a summary of basic carry laws for several states. Learn about the most important things to know when carrying in Wyoming, the Cowboy State, below.
Getting a Permit in Wyoming
Open carry is legal without a permit for anyone who is at least 18 years old and legally entitled to carry a firearm. As of July 1, 2021, permitless concealed carry is legal for any legal resident of the U.S. who is 21 years old or older, and who may lawfully possess a firearm. The minimum age to purchase and possess a handgun is 21 years old.
A Wyoming Concealed Firearms Permit (CFP) requires a firearms training course that has been state approved or experience with a firearm through participation in an organized shooting competition or military service. Wyoming does not issue non-resident permits. In terms of reciprocity, Wyoming honors permits from other states that recognize Wyoming permits. In addition, pepper spray, stun guns and Tasers are legal to purchase and possess without a permit. There are no handgun magazine capacity limits or ammunition restrictions in Wyoming.
No permit is needed to purchase a firearm from a private individual. No background check is required. There is no waiting period and no firearms registration in the state. Background checks are required if purchasing a handgun from a Federal Firearms Dealer. However, a Wyoming CFP exempts the holder from the federal requirement of a background check prior to purchase of a firearm. There is no requirement to inform law enforcement that you are carrying a firearm in Wyoming.
Locations where a handgun may be carried concealed include:
- In a vehicle without a permit for anyone at least 21 years old who can legally possess a firearm.
- Roadside rest areas
- In the restaurant area of an eatery that serves alcohol
- State/national parks, with or without a permit
- State/national forests, with or without a permit
- Wildlife Management Areas, with or without a permit
- Places of worship, unless posted
Locations where carry is prohibited even for permit holders include:
- Any elementary or secondary school facility
- Any school, college or professional athletic event not related to firearms
- Any college or university facility without the written consent of the security service of the college or university
- Any facility used primarily for law enforcement operations or administration without the written consent of the chief administrator
- Any detention facility, prison or jail
- Any courtroom, except that nothing shall preclude a judge from carrying a concealed weapon or determining who will carry a concealed weapon in the courtroom
- Any meeting of a government entity
- Any meeting of the legislature or a committee thereof
- Bars or the bar area of restaurants
- The Wyoming boy’s and girl’s schools
- The state hospital
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law
Visit the USCCA Wyoming gun laws page now…
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.