Carrying a firearm for self-defense comes with a lot of responsibility. Knowing the laws where you carry is just one important task armed Americans must undertake. To help with that, we will be providing you with a summary of basic carry laws for several states. Learn about the most important things to know when carrying in Oklahoma, the Sooner State, below.
Concealed Carry Permitting in Oklahoma
Open carry is legal with a permit for anyone at least 18 years old. Without a permit, it is allowed in Oklahoma for anyone that can legally own a firearm and is at least 21 years old (or at least 18 years old for members or veterans of the U.S. military). That is if used in lawful self-defense and self-protection or any other legitimate purpose such as hunting, fishing, educational or recreational function.
Constitutional carry went into effect on November 1, 2019. It allows anyone who is at least 21 years old (or at least 18 years old and a member of the military or honorably discharged veteran) that can legally own a firearm to openly or concealed carry without a permit. Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation’s Self-Defense Act Licenses (SDAL) are issued to residents and military personnel and their spouses stationed in Oklahoma only. A person must be 21 or older, have completed a firearms course and meet other criteria to apply. There are restrictions on the caliber of the firearm a permit holder can carry, with .45 caliber being the highest. Licenses are not available for non-residents.
In terms of reciprocity, Oklahoma recognizes permits issued by all other states. In addition, residents of other permitless carry states can carry in the state. You may also carry pepper spray for personal protection, a stun gun or a Taser, as all are legal to purchase and possess without a permit.
Permits are not required when buying a handgun, and there is no firearms registration in Oklahoma. Private firearms transfers are not subject to a background check requirement. There is also no mandatory waiting period for handgun purchases. Oklahoma has no magazine capacity restrictions. The possession or use of any “restricted bullet” is prohibited. A “restricted bullet” is a round or elongated missile with a core of less than 60 percent lead and that has a fluorocarbon coating, designed to travel at high velocity and capable of penetrating body armor. Carrying a concealed handgun loaded with ammunition larger than .45 caliber is also prohibited.
Where Can One Carry in Oklahoma?
In terms of locations where a concealed handgun may be carried, carry is allowed in vehicles without a permit for anyone 21 or older (or at least 18 years old and a member of the military or honorably discharged veteran) who is not otherwise prohibited from possessing a firearm. Carry is also allowed at roadside rest areas without a permit. Other areas where permitless concealed carry is allowed include:
- In the restaurant area of an eatery that serves alcohol, unless posted and provided you are not under the influence (However, concealed carry is not allowed in bars or the bar areas of restaurants)
- Public buses
- Any municipal zoo or park of any size that is owned, leased, operated or managed by a public trust or nonprofit entity
- Places of worship, unless posted or upon notice that firearms are prohibited
- State/national parks (but not in any buildings)
- State/national forests (but not in any buildings)
Locations where carry is prohibited, even for permitholders include:
- Any elementary school, secondary school or school bus
- Any college, university or technology center school property, unless allowed by school policy (except firearms properly stored in vehicles in parking areas)
- Any prison, jail or detention facility
- Any place where the sale of low-point beer or alcoholic beverages constitutes the primary purpose of the business (although it is allowed in the restaurant area)
- Any publicly owned or operated sports arena or venue during a professional sporting event, unless allowed by the event holder
- Anywhere when under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- Any structure, building or office space which is owned or leased by a city, town, county, state or federal governmental authority for the purpose of conducting business with the public
- Any meeting of any city, town, county, state or federal officials, school board members, legislative members or any other elected or appointed officials
- Any courthouse or courtroom
- Any place where gambling is authorized by law, unless allowed by the property owner
- Private businesses, organizations or residences that prohibit open carry
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law or state law or regulation
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.