Carrying a firearm for self-defense comes with a lot of responsibility. Knowing the laws where you carry is just one important task you must undertake as an armed American. To help with that, we will be providing you with a summary of basic carry laws for several states. Learn about the most important things to know when carrying in the Granite State below.
Permitting in New Hampshire
Open carry is legal in New Hampshire without a permit for anyone at least 18 years of age who can legally possess a firearm. Concealed carry is legal without a permit; however, Pistol/Revolver Licenses (PRLs) are issued to residents and non-residents for reciprocity purposes. The minimum age is 18 years old, and PRLs are issued to residents and non-residents. In terms of reciprocity — since New Hampshire has permitless carry — any person 18 years of age and older that can legally possess a firearm may carry a concealed firearm without a license or permit.
Stun guns and Tasers are legal to purchase and possess without a permit for anyone at least 18 years old with no felony convictions. Pepper spray can be carried without a permit. A permit is not required to purchase a handgun in New Hampshire. No background check is required for private gun sales. There is no firearm registration or waiting period after purchasing a handgun. There is no duty to inform a law enforcement officer that you’re carrying a concealed firearm in the state.
New Hampshire does not have magazine capacity restrictions. Teflon-coated, armor-piercing and any ammunition that is designed to explode upon impact is prohibited in the course of committing any misdemeanor or felony.
Where Can One Carry in New Hampshire?
Anyone at least 18 years old and not otherwise prohibited by statute from possessing a firearm may carry a handgun in a vehicle and at roadside rest areas in New Hampshire.
Locations where a concealed handgun may be carried include:
- Restaurants that serve alcohol (unless posted)
- State/national parks
- State/national forests
- Wildlife Management Areas
- Places of worship (unless posted)
Locations where carry is prohibited, include:
- Courtroom or area used by a court
- On an off-highway recreational vehicle/snowmobile or trailer towed by an off-highway recreational vehicle/snowmobile, unless the firearm is unloaded
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law or state law or regulation
Visit the USCCA New Hampshire gun laws page now…