Carrying a firearm for self-defense comes with a lot of responsibility. Knowing the laws where you carry is just one important task armed Americans must undertake. To help with that, we will be providing you with a summary of basic carry laws for several states. Learn about the most important things to know when carrying in Idaho, the Gem State, below.
Concealed Carry Permitting in Idaho
Open and concealed carry are legal in Idaho for anyone at least 18 years old who can legally possess a firearm. An Idaho Concealed Weapons License (CWL) covers concealed weapons including any dirk, dirk knife, bowie knife, dagger, pistol, revolver or any other deadly or dangerous weapon.
For purposes of reciprocity, an Enhanced CWL is available for those who wish to travel out of state. In terms of reciprocity, some states will only accept the enhanced version of Idaho’s permit. Idaho issues CWLs to residents and non-residents. Concealed carry permits require a firearms training course that has been state-approved or experience with a firearm through participation in an organized shooting competition or military service. In addition, pepper spray, stun guns and Tasers are legal to purchase and possess without a permit.
No permit is required to purchase a firearm. A person must be at least 18 years old to possess or transport a handgun in Idaho. There is no registration or mandatory waiting period for handguns. There are also no restrictions on magazine capacity or ammunition restrictions. There is no requirement to inform law enforcement that you are carrying a firearm in Idaho.
Where Can One Carry?
Areas where permitless concealed carry is allowed:
- In a vehicle
- In restaurants and bars, unless posted and provided you are not under the influence
- Roadside rest areas
- State/national parks
- State/national forests
- Wildlife Management Areas
- Places of worship, unless posted
Locations where carry is prohibited even for permit holders include:
- Dormitory, residence hall or public entertainment area of a public college or university, provided that proper signage is conspicuously posted
- Private or public elementary or secondary school or a school-sponsored activity
- On school provided transportation
- Children’s residential care facility
- Children’s therapeutic outdoor program
- State veterans’ home
- Juvenile detention facility
- Adult correctional facility, prison or jail
- Any private business that prohibits the carrying of weapons on its premises
- Any place while intoxicated or under the influence of an intoxicating drink or drug
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law
Visit the USCCA Idaho gun laws page now…
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.