As a responsibly armed American, you already know how challenging it may be to stay up to date on your state’s gun laws…
Virginia residents, you’re in luck. We’ve accumulated some of the most frequently asked questions about Virginia gun laws and are now bringing you the answers! (Not from Virginia? Don’t worry, your state is coming soon…)
Can You Have a Gun in Your Car in Virginia?
Yes, with a permit. Carry in a vehicle is allowed without a permit if it is secured in a container or compartment. This can mean a console, glove compartment or any other area of the vehicle that has the ability to be closed.
Does Virginia Have a Castle Law?
Although not codified by statute, Virginia case law supports self-defense, a version of the castle doctrine and stand your ground in certain circumstances. Deadly force can only be used, however, if you or another person are under imminent danger of an overt act threatening unlawful force, serious bodily harm or death and the amount of force is reasonable in relation to the threat.
How Long Does It Take to Get a Concealed Carry Permit in Virginia?
The mandated processing time for a resident Virginia Handgun Permit (VHP) is 45 days from acceptance of your application. Processing a non-resident concealed handgun permit can take between three and six months. Permits are valid for five years, cost $50 and a training course is required.
Can You Open Carry in a Mall in Virginia?
Open carry is legal in Virginia in most places with or without a concealed handgun permit for anyone who is at least 18 years old and legally entitled to carry a firearm. However, since shopping malls are private property, they may post to prohibit firearms.
What Are the Rules for Concealed Carry in Virginia?
Concealed carry is legal with a VHP or a permit from a state that Virginia honors. Permits are issued to both residents and non-residents at least 21 years old and require a firearms training course that has been approved by the state. Some areas are off-limits, including airport terminals and courthouses.
Can You Open Carry in Virginia?
Open carry is legal in Virginia without a permit. The minimum age is 18 years old.
Can You Carry a Gun in Virginia State Parks?
Yes, you can carry a gun in Virginia state parks provided you have a Virginia Handgun Permit or a concealed carry permit from a state that Virginia honors.
Ready to Learn More About Virginia Gun Laws?
It’s your responsibility as a gun owner to know and understand the laws regarding your concealed carry rights. The USCCA’s Concealed Carry Reciprocity & Gun Laws Map is the ultimate tool for armed citizens like you to stay informed. To learn more about Virginia’s permit application process, concealed carry restrictions and training requirements, visit Virginia’s gun laws page now…
Additionally, continued firearms training is crucial to being your family’s first line of defense. Find a gun range in Virginia through our “Find a Shooting Range” resource — made possible by our partnership with the National Shooting Sports Foundation and WhereToShoot.org.
The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. Members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. Although we attempt to address all areas of concealed carry laws in all states, we make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. Legal advice must always be tailored to the individual facts and circumstances of each individual case. Laws are constantly changing, and as such, nothing contained on this website should be used as a substitute for the advice of a lawyer.