Right to carry laws are federal and state constitutional provisions that recognize a gun owner’s right to use her or his gun for defensive purposes. Forty-four U.S. states include the right to bear arms in their state constitutions. The six states with constitutions that do not include the right to bear arms are California, Iowa, Maryland, Minnesota, New Jersey and New York.

The Second Amendment of the U.S. Constitution states: “A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.”

Related Articles From the USCCA Blog

Right to Carry: Not Just a Federal Matter

Right to Carry: Not Just a Federal Matter

John Caile — December 20, 2019

Constitution? Which One?

Constitution? Which One?

John Caile — December 14, 2018

The information contained on this website is provided as a service to USCCA, Inc. members and the concealed carry community, and does not constitute legal advice. We make no claims, representations, warranties, promises or guarantees as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information disclosed. 

Uncover the Backstory Free Book

Read the new book that reveals the little-known history of the US Concealed Carry Association.

Are You Born to Protect?

Get Your FREE USCCA Sticker! Enter your email below:


Your FREE book download is on its way to your inbox.

But the U.S. Concealed Carry Association is more than just a story…

We're the best resource to help responsible Americans keep their loved ones safe.

Learn More


Your sticker will be shipped as soon as possible.

But the USCCA is about more than a look or a tagline…

Laptop and mobile training view

We’re the lifesaving resource every protector needs to keep their family safe.

Learn More